Michele Thompson has been named one of the Top 100

Michele Thompson, a receptionist with Usel (Ulster Supported Employment and Learning), is the only person from Northern Ireland to have made the Shaw Trust Power List 2018 joining the likes of Stephen Fry, Ruby Wax, Katie Piper, Andrew Marr and Ellie Simmonds who have all been on the list in past years.

For the past 20 years, Michele has been the face of Usel and the first point of contact for people when they visit our head office. She started at Usel on work experience fresh from completing a college course in 1997 but we quickly snapped her up as an employee.

Twenty years on, she was delighted to be named in the 4th annual Shaw Trust Power List, due to be published in September. The power list is designed to celebrate achievement, break down barriers but more importantly to provide much needed encouragement to young and talented leaders of tomorrow, allowing them to see that aspiration and ambition can be fulfilled regardless of Disability.

Michele, who has cerebral palsy, is keen to inspire and encourage young people to fulfil their potential and follow their dreams.

“I love my job. It’s really important because I’m usually the first point of contact that people have with Usel and so it’s vital to give the right impression and to be welcoming and helpful,” she said.

Recent Posts

See All


Head Office (Directions)

182-188 Cambrai Street, Belfast, BT13 3JH

Tel: 028 9035 6600
Fax: 028 9035 6611
Mini-com: 028 9075 7012
Text Phone: 028 9075 0625

Portadown (Directions)

2 William Street, Millennium Court 

Portadown, Craigavon, BT62 3NX

Tel: 028 3835 0202

Londonderry/Derry (Directions)

Gortfoyle House , 104 Spencer Road, Derry - Londonderry, Co Derry, BT47 6AG


Tel: 028 7116 1595


Ballymena (Directions)

Unit 30, Woodside Road Ind Est,
Woodside Road, Ballymena, BT42 4QJ

Tel: 028 2568 9576

Copy Right 2020 Usel

This project is part funded through the Northern Ireland European Social Fund Programme 2014 – 2020, the Department for the Economy, the Department for Communities, Belfast City Council, Derry City & Strabane District Council, Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council,  Mid & East Antrim Borough Council and Antrim & Newtownabbey Borough Council